Where we Are

Approximately 400 Jesuits belong to the USA Central and Southern (UCS) Province and serve the states of:

  • Alabama
  • Arkansas
  • Colorado
  • Florida
  • Southern Illinois
  • Kansas
  • Louisiana
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • New Mexico
  • Texas
  • Tennessee
  • Oklahoma

The province also serves the Central American country of Belize and the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico.

Jesuit roots in this broad swath of America go back to the 16th century. As the country grew, two provinces developed: the New Orleans and Missouri provinces. On July 31, 2014, they combined to create the U.S. Central and Southern Province. On Dec. 3, 2014, the Jesuits in Puerto Rico became part of the province.

Formal Name

U.S. Central and Southern Province, Society of Jesus
Jesuits USA Central and Southern Province


Father Thomas P. Greene, SJ, is the second provincial superior of the UCS Province. 

Apostolates – Our Ministries

Six institutions of higher education:

Twelve secondary schools:

Pre-secondary education: Loyola Academy in St. Louis and Academia San Ignacio de Loyola in San Juan, Puerto Rico, as well as several parish schools.

Retreats and Spirituality Centers

The core spirituality that began with the personal experience of St. Ignatius’s conversion continues at seven retreat houses and spirituality centers that offer Ignatian retreats and training in Ignatian Spirituality:

UCS Province Map

The Novitiate

Jesuits begin their formation with two years of study and apostolic ministry based at the Jesuit Novitiate of St. Stanislaus Kostka at St. Charles College in Grand Coteau.

Our Office

Our province office is located in St. Louis’ Central West End neighborhood. While our provincial and much of his staff work here, we have Jesuit and lay colleagues in every corner of our province.

Scroll to Top